Willem Breuker Prize | NPO Radio 4

Willem Breuker Prize | NPO Radio 4
Willem Breuker Prize | NPO Radio 4

Duo Maarten Ornstein and Mike Fentross, saxophonist and lutenist, and for violinist/performer Diamanda La Berge Dramm. This year they receive the Willem Breuker Prize.

The Willem Breuker Prize, named after saxophonist, clarinetist and composer Willem Breuker who passed away in 2010, is awarded every two years to a composer, musician, programmer or organizer whose work is characterized by ‘freedom, hearty audacity and a completely open mind’. .
And because it was not possible last year, this year only two winners.

The jury report says about Maarten Ornstein and Mike Fentross:

“The duo knows how to place the traditional in their own time by subtly mixing old and new music cultures from different parts of the world. They stack surprise upon surprise and explore the boundaries between Western European classical music, Baltic folklore and improvisation.”

“It is natural for Diamanda La Berge Dramm to use countless other means of expression in addition to her violin playing to translate her own physical emotions into music. She is an authentic appearance in the instrumental domain in which she has an exemplary function when it comes to using the instrument as a means and not as an end.”

The Willem Breuker Prize worth 15,000 EURO will be awarded on Friday 4 November in the Bimhuis in Amsterdam.

The article is in Dutch

Tags: Willem Breuker Prize NPO Radio

PREV ‘Riverdale’ actor Ryan Grantham gets life for murdering mother
NEXT Gingerbread manufacturer Vondelmolen: ‘If you don’t have a piggy bank, you risk bankruptcy’