RETRO: From Mario De Clercq’s gesture to MVDP’s 1st world title, Tabor’s World Cup history


For the 4th time, the cyclo-cross riders will descend on Tabor, Czech Republic, to take a shot at the rainbow jersey. What have the previous visits to Tabor yielded? Look here at the images from 2015, 2010 and 2001.

2015 Cyclocross World Championships

The most recent World Cup in Tabor dates back to 2015.

Mathieu van der Poel, who was only 20 years old at the time, decided at the last minute to start working for the pros. He promptly won his first title among the elites in front of Wout van Aert.

Tabor is where the Vanthourenhout family is located. 14 years after cousin Sven, Michael also won the World Cup race among the promises.

Among the juniors and women, silver ended up in the Belgian basket. Simon Andreassen banged the door open in front of Eli Iserbyt, but the Dane would soon switch to mountain biking. Sanne Cant lost another thriller to Pauline Ferrand-Prevot.


2010 Cyclocross World Championships

Zdenek Stybar will wave goodbye on Sunday at the place where he won the rainbow jersey in 2010 ahead of Klaas Vantornout and Sven Nys.

Tom Meeusen took silver in the U23 category after Arnaud Jouffroy, although after the Szczepaniak brothers were dropped after doping.

Julian Alaphilippe, as a spring chick, lost a pressing sprint with the Czech junior Tomas Paprstka and Marianne Vos settled on the highest platform among the women.


2001 Cyclocross World Championships

For the first World Championship in Tabor we have to go back to 2001. The climax came with the pros, where championship rider Erwin Vervecken won his first world title.

After a “gesture” from Mario De Clercq, he was able to hold off home rider Petr Dlask in bad weather. That gesture of course came after De Clercq had defeated Vervecken at the World Cup in Poprad two years earlier.

Thanks to current national coach Sven Vanthourenhout, the Belgians already had a world title in their pocket. The West Flemish left two Czechs disappointed with the promises.

In the junior category the podium was completely Czech, in the women’s category Hanka Kupfernagel towered above everyone.



The article is in Dutch

Tags: RETRO Mario Clercqs gesture MVDPs #1st world title Tabors World Cup history