PREMIER LEAGUE DARTS. Defending champion Van Gerwen about Aspinall’s statements: “Best Premier League ever? That’s not good” | Darts



Van Gerwen about Aspinall’s statements: “Best Premier League ever? It’s not good”

“I feel good. I am ready,” says defending champion Michael van Gerwen, who won the Premier League for the seventh time last year and thus improved Phil Taylor’s record (six victories). However, Mighty Mike does not want to stop there: “What the goal is now? To win number eight and win number nine next year,” said Van Gerwen, who is the only one of the current participants to ever win the Premier League.

Nevertheless, Van Gerwen thinks that this year’s line-up is one of the most interesting in recent years, he said on the TOTO Darts Kings channels. “Certainly, one hundred percent. Luke Humphries (the world champion, ed.) is playing fantastic, Luke Littler is there. I think a lot of people will enjoy watching and I think this will be a very nice edition of the Premier League with many fast, entertaining players,” said the Dutch darts player, who lost to Scott Williams in the quarter-finals of the last World Cup.

Nathan Aspinall even stated that he has never seen such a strong line-up in the Premier League as this year. Something Van Gerwen does not agree with: “Best line-up ever? That’s not good. No, of course not. There were years with Phil Taylor, Gary Anderson, Adrian Lewis, Raymond van Barneveld and Peter Wright. Those line-up was a little stronger then,” said Mighty Mike, who is participating in the Premier League for the twelfth time. Only Taylor (13) and Van Barneveld (14) participated more often. “I’m an old hand.”

Van Gerwen, who recently won the World Series tournament in Den Bosch by beating the 17-year-old super talent Littler in the final, will first play against former world champion Michael Smith in Cardiff: “A tough opening, but hopefully I can Premier League perfect start.”

The Premier League line-up. © Photo News


It’s all about this trophy

Darts commentator Rudy Lanssens tells everything you need to know about the Premier League trophy.

This content contains cookies from social media or other external platforms. Because you have disabled these cookies, this content remains hidden. Accept cookies from social media to still display the content.


1 million in prize money

This year the Premier League prize pool is again well filled. A total of 1.171 million euros will be distributed among the darts players. The winner of a Premier League evening goes home with just under 12,000 euros. The eventual winner will receive 322,000 euros in his account, while the losing finalist will receive more than 140,000 euros.


The program for tonight

8.10pm: Peter Wright – Rob Cross

8.40pm: Gerwyn Price – Nathan Aspinall

9.10 pm: Michael van Gerwen – Michael Smith

9.40pm: Luke Littler – Luke Humphries


Who are the participants?

The top 4 in the world are automatically guaranteed a ticket for the Premier League. These are World Cup winner Luke Humphries, Michael van Gerwen, Michael Smith and Nathan Aspinall. The PDC has invited players for the other four places. They are Gerwyn Price, Rob Cross, Peter Wright and the only 17-year-old Luke Littler. He reached the final of the World Cup in early January.


The article is in Dutch

Tags: PREMIER LEAGUE DARTS Defending champion Van Gerwen Aspinalls statements Premier League good Darts


PREV VIDEO. Simon Yates takes double in AlUla Tour after sprint against William Junior Lecerf, who impresses uphill and wins white jersey
NEXT KV Kortrijk wins six-point match against Charleroi and remains undefeated in 2024 | Jupiler Pro League