Philipsen and not Evenepoel elected Flandrien

Philipsen and not Evenepoel elected Flandrien
Philipsen and not Evenepoel elected Flandrien


Jasper Philipsen. — © belga

Not top favorite Remco Evenepoel, but Jasper Philipsen was chosen by his fellow riders as Flandrien 2023. In the women’s race, Lotte Kopecky won as expected.

Victory in Liège-Bastogne-Liège, two stages in the Giro, three in the Vuelta and world time trial champion. Remco Evenepoel was the sky-high favorite at the Flandrien gala on Tuesday evening, but did not take home the trophy for the second year in a row. Jasper Philipsen was surprisingly voted winner by his Belgian fellow riders.

Philipsen did have a top year. The 25-year-old sprinter from Alpecin-Deceuninck shone in the spring with a win in Brugge-De Panne and a second place in Paris-Roubaix. In the summer he won four stages and the green jersey in the Tour. With 19 victories, Philipsen also became victory king of 2023.

‘Does this surprise me? A little bit,” the winner responded. ‘We are talking about Belgium. There are still a few top riders cycling around here, to say the least. And yes, I think first of Remco, who also had a fantastic year. But that doesn’t make it any less fun.’

At the Flandrienne election, Lotte Kopecky stood head and shoulders above the rest after her miracle year. Mathieu van der Poel was elected international Flandrien.

Lotte Kopecky.

Lotte Kopecky. — © belga


The article is in Dutch

Tags: Philipsen Evenepoel elected Flandrien


NEXT Tom Waes no longer denies public secret and confirms new love | Ltd